The Echo or: How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Theatre

I’m a big dreamer. I just can’t help it. I love to sit around, sighing to myself, thinking, “Wouldn’t it be nice if I had a pony?” or “Wouldn’t it be great if I ate a bathtub full of ice cream?” or “Wouldn’t it be nice if I ate a bathtub full of ice cream while riding a pony?”

I dream about ice cream a lot. But not as often as I dream about opening up a theatre.

A theatre, you say? What sort of a dream is that? Come on. Haven’t you ever wanted to have a space where you could focus entirely on your creative projects? Music, drama, interpretive jello sculpting? Anything?  Well, I’ve always wanted my creative space, and I’m blessed to be surrounded by family and friends who want it, too. In fact, just over a month ago I married one of those friends, and guess what he gave me for my wedding present?

…An iPad!

And then about a week and a half after our wedding, he found a dilapidated old building and said, “Look, honey! Look at this great place I found! Let’s fix it up and make a theatre!” And, of course, me being the responsible new wife that I am, I said, “Perhaps we should think about this before we make any rash decisions.”

HA! Ah ha ha. Ha. Ahem. Hmmm. Not quite.

Now, a few weeks later, we have enlisted the help of many talented/obsessive suckers people who have helped us transform a graffiti-covered mess into a new theatre.  And it’s just in time for the opening of our first show, The Woman in Black! (Tickets on sale now. Hint hint.)

But what is next for the Echo Theatre, and for all of the dreamers involved?

We here at the Echo believe that all of us can create; we just need a space and the opportunity. Well, we have a space. Now it’s time to get creative. Our goal is to collaborate with local artists to produce high-quality theatrical productions that you might not see in every community theatre around the country. We’re not opposed to performing the old, crowd-pleasing standards, but we’d love to highlight new works by local playwrights, and to give actors a chance to dive into meaty roles.

So, if you have the talent and the drive to be involved here at the Echo, get in touch with us! We would love to give you a space for your creation, especially if it involves interpretive jello sculpting. And a bathtub full of ice cream.

– Julianna Blake, Co-Owner
The Echo Theatre
What do you think?

